March 18, 2018 / 2:04 PM / a month ago

Reuters Sports Schedule at 1400 GMT on Sunday

Reuters sports schedule at 1400 GMT on Sunday:

SOCCER

FA Cup quarter-finals

Wigan Athletic v Southampton (1330)

Leicester City v Chelsea (1630)

Wigan welcome Saints looking for another top-flight scalp

MANCHESTER, England - Giant-killers Wigan Athletic of the third tier, who eliminated Manchester City in the fifth round, bid to continue their dream Cup run against a relegation-threatened Southampton side looking to find form under newly appointed manager Mark Hughes. (SOCCER-ENGLAND-WIG-SOU/ (PIX), expect by 1530 GMT/11:30 AM ET, by Simon Evans, 400 words)

Chelsea look to salvage disappointing season in FA Cup

Chelsea visit Leicester City aiming to bounce back from their midweek Champions League last 16 exit to Barcelona and reach the FA Cup semi-finals in the only competition they can still win this season. (SOCCER-ENGLAND-LEI-CHE/ (PIX, TV), expect by 1830 GMT/2:30 PM ET, 400 words)

La Liga

Leganes v Sevilla (1100)

Barcelona v Athletic Club (1515)

Villarreal v Atlético Madrid (1730)

Celta Vigo v Malaga (1730)

Real Madrid v Girona (1945)

Barca look to extend unbeaten Liga run

BARCELONA - Barcelona host Athletic Bilbao hoping to extend their unbeaten league run to 36 games and stay at least eight points clear of second-placed Atletico Madrid, who visit Villarreal. Champions Real Madrid welcome a Girona side bidding for a top-six finish in their first top-flight campaign. (SOCCER-SPAIN (PIX), expect from 1715 GMT/1:15 PM ET, by Richard Martin, 400 words)

Serie A (1400 unless stated)

Sampdoria v Inter Milan (1230)

Hellas Verona v Atalanta

Benevento v Cagliari

AC Milan v Chievo

Torino v Fiorentina

Crotone v Roma

Lazio v Bologna (1945)

Napoli v Genoa (1945)

MILAN - Second-placed Napoli host Genoa while AS Roma, who are third, visit escape artists Crotone and fourth-placed Lazio entertain Bologna. (SOCCER-ITALY/, expect from 1430 GMT/10:30 AM ET, by Brian Homewood, 400 words)

Bundesliga

Borussia Dortmund v Hannover 96 (1230)

FC Cologne v Bayer Leverkusen (1430)

RB Leipzig v Bayern Munich (1700)

Bayern bid to move closer to title

BERLIN - Bayern Munich bid to extend their lead at the top to 20 points with a victory at RB Leipzig that would put them on the brink of a sixth successive title. (SOCCER-GERMANY/, expect by 1900 GMT/3 PM ET, 400 words)

Chinese Super League

Shanghai SIPG look to continue perfect start

HONG KONG - Shanghai SIPG take on Guangzhou R&F on Sunday looking to continue their perfect start to the new Chinese Super League campaign as defending champions Guangzhou Evergrande face off against Henan Jianye. (SOCCER-CHINA/ expect by 1600 GMT/1100 AM ET, 500 words)

GOLF

Stenson ahead by one with Woods five back

Henrik Stenson holds a one-stroke lead over Bryson DeChambeau with Rory McIlroy, Justin Rose and Rickie Fowler in contention along with Tiger Woods, who was five shots back heading into the final round at Bay Hill. (GOLF-PALMER/, expect by 0001 GMT/8:01 PM ET, 400 words)

TENNIS

ATP/WTA: BNP Paribas Open, Indian Wells (to 18)

Federer faces Del Potro in record title bid

World number one Roger Federer goes for a record sixth Indian Wells title against big-hitting Argentine Juan Martin Del Potro in the California desert. (TENNIS-INDIANWELLS/MEN, expect by 0030 GMT/8:30 PM ET, 400 words)

Rising stars chase women’s title

Japan’s Naomi Osaka meets Russia’s Daria Kasatkina as the 20-year-old stars chase their first title at Indian Wells. (TENNIS-INDIANWELLS/WOMEN, expect by 2100 GMT/5 PM ET, 400 words)

NBA

Raptors seek 12th consecutive victory

The Toronto Raptors chase a 12th consecutive victory when Russell Westbrook and the Oklahoma City Thunder come to town and the Portland Trail Blazers meet the Los Angeles Clippers in two of the four games on the National Basketball Association’s schedule. (BASKETBALL-NBA/HIGHLIGHTS, expect by 0530 GMT/1:30 AM ET, by Field Level Media, 400 words)

NHL

Streaking Capitals travel to Philly

The Washington Capitals face the Philadelphia Flyers as they seek their fifth consecutive win before the Pacific Division leading Vegas Golden Knights take on the visiting Calgary Flames in two of the eight games on the National Hockey League schedule. (ICEHOCKEY-NHL/HIGHLIGHTS, expect by 0530 GMT/1:30 AM ET, by Field Level Media, 800 words)

NORTH AMERICAN SPORTS

Roundups of off-field developments in the major North American professional sports leagues. (expect by 0000 GMT/8 PM ET, by Field Level Media, 500 words)

CRICKET

Twenty20 Tri-Series

India aim to beat Bangladesh again in final

COLOMBO - India have beaten Bangladesh twice in the tournament and Rohit Sharma’s team will seek to maintain their supremacy again in Sunday’s final at Colombo’s R Premadasa stadium. (CRICKET-T20-TRI/, 400 words)

MOTORCYCLING

Qatar Grand Prix

Zarco on pole for MotoGP’s night-time season-opener

Frenchman Johann Zarco will start the first race of the MotoGP season on pole position for Tech3 Yamaha, with Honda’s world champion Marc Marquez alongside. (MOTOR-MOTOGP-QATAR/, (PIX, TV), expect by 1700 GMT/1 PM ET, 300 words) (Europe Desk Editor: Toby Davis)

0 : 0
  • narrow-browser-and-phone
  • medium-browser-and-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser
  • wide-browser-and-larger
  • medium-browser-and-landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser-and-larger
  • above-phone
  • portrait-tablet-and-above
  • above-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet-and-above
  • landscape-tablet-and-medium-wide-browser
  • portrait-tablet-and-below
  • landscape-tablet-and-below