June 29, 2018 / 12:01 AM / 5 months ago

Reuters Sports Schedule at 1400 GMT on Sunday

Reuters sports schedule at 1400 GMT on Sunday:

SOCCER

World Cup

Spain v Russia (1400)

MOSCOW - Former world champions Spain face hosts Russia in the round of 16 at Moscow’s Luzhniki Stadium. (SOCCER-WORLDCUP-ESP-RUS/, expect by 1600 GMT/12 PM ET, 600 words)

Croatia v Denmark (1800)

NIZHNY NOVGOROD, Russia - Croatia play Denmark in the round of 16. (SOCCER-WORLDCUP-CRO-DNK/, expect by 2000 GMT/4 PM ET, 600 words)

Follow-ups

Follow-ups on France and Argentina following their round of 16 match in Kazan which France won 4-3. (SOCCER-WORLDCUP-FRA-ARG/)

Follow-up on prospects for Uruguay after they beat Portugal 2-1 in the last 16. (SOCCER-WORLDCUP-URY-POR/)

A follow-up story on Portugal after their round of 16 defeat by Uruguay. (SOCCER-WORLDCUP-URY-POR/)

News conferences

SAMARA, Russia - Mexico train ahead of last-16 game against Brazil on Monday. (SOCCER-WORLDCUP-BRA-MEX/PREVIEW)

SAMARA, Russia - Brazil prepare for their round of 16 match against Mexico in Samara. (SOCCER-WORLDCUP-BRA-MEX/PREVIEW)

ST PETERSBURG - Analysis and early team news as Sweden prepare to take on Switzerland in the round of 16 on Tuesday. (SOCCER-WORLDCUP-SWE-SWI/PREVIEW)

ROSTOV-ON-DON, Russia - Belgium coach Roberto Martinez gives a news conference ahead of his side’s round of 16 match against Japan on Monday. (SOCCER-WORLDCUP-BEL-JPN/PREVIEW)

TENNIS

Wimbledon

LONDON - Last year’s Wimbledon men’s singles champion Roger Federer speaks on the eve of this year’s tournament. (TENNIS-WIMBLEDON/FEDERER)

LONDON - Last year’s Wimbledon women’s singles champion Garbine Muguruza speaks on the eve of this year’s tournament. (TENNIS-WIMBLEDON/MUGURUZA)

Comaneci discusses Halep’s Grand Slam success

London - Sporting great Nadia Comaneci hails Simona Halep’s debut Grand Slam success at the French Open and discusses what the win means for her fellow Romanian and for their country. (TENNIS-WIMBLEDON/COMANECI-HALEP (INTERVIEW), expect by 1600 GMT/12 AM ET, by Pritha Sarkar, 750 words)

MOTOR RACING

Austrian Grand Prix

Bottas on pole again with Hamilton second

SPIELBERG, Austria - Valtteri Bottas starts the Austrian Grand Prix on pole position with Mercedes team mate and Formula One championship leader Lewis Hamilton alongside. Ferrari’s Sebastian Vettel starts sixth after collecting a three-place grid penalty. (MOTOR-F1-AUSTRIA/ (PIX, TV), expect by 1500 GMT/11 AM ET, by Alan Baldwin, 400 words)

MOTORCYCLING

Honda’s reigning world champion Marc Marquez starts the eighth race of the season on pole position with closest title rival Valentino Rossi also on the front row. (MOTOR-MOTOGP-DUTCH/)

GOLF

European Tour: French Open (to 1)

Kinhult in front at Ryder Cup venue

PARIS - Sweden’s Marcus Kinhult takes a two-shot lead into the final round. (GOLF-EUROPEAN/ (PIX), 300 words)

PGA Tour: The National, Maryland (to 1)

Molinari seeks to end 71-year Italian drought

Two-times European Ryder Cup member Francesco Molinari, seeking to become the first Italian winner on the PGA Tour since 1947, starts the final round tied with Abraham Ancer at TPC Potomac in Maryland, where Tiger Woods is six behind. (GOLF-NATIONAL/, expect by 2300 GMT/7 PM ET, 400 words)

LPGA Tour: PGA Championship , Illinois (to 1)

Ryu tries to complete third leg of womens slam South Korean Ryu So-yeon tries to clinch a third major title when she starts the final round with a three-shot lead over Canadian Brooke Henderson at Kemper Lakes outside Chicago. (GOLF-WOMEN/PGACHAMP, expect by 0000 GMT/8 ET, 400 words)

BASEBALL

Ten-game winners meet in Florida

Houston’s Charlie Morton goes against Tampa Bay’s Blake Snell in a clash of 10-game winners in Florida and the Seattle Mariners take on the visiting Kansas City Royals in two of the 15 games on the Major League Baseball schedule. (BASEBALL-MLB/HIGHLIGHTS, expect by 0330 GMT/11:30 PM ET, by Field Level Media, 800 words)

NORTH AMERICAN SPORTS

Roundups of off-field developments in the major North American professional sports leagues. (expect by 0000 GMT/8 PM ET, by Field Level Media, 500 words) (London desk editor:)

0 : 0
  • narrow-browser-and-phone
  • medium-browser-and-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser
  • wide-browser-and-larger
  • medium-browser-and-landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser-and-larger
  • above-phone
  • portrait-tablet-and-above
  • above-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet-and-above
  • landscape-tablet-and-medium-wide-browser
  • portrait-tablet-and-below
  • landscape-tablet-and-below