May 17, 2018 / 2:00 PM / 10 days ago

Reuters Sports Schedule at 1400 GMT on Thursday

Reuters sports schedule at 1400 GMT on Thursday:

SOCCER

Serie A

Italy’s Buffon to leave Juventus after 17 years

TURIN - Italy’s talismanic goalkeeper Gianluigi Buffon, considered by many to be the greatest-ever in his position, will play his last match for Juventus after 17 years at the club when they host Verona in Serie A on Saturday. (SOCCER-ITALY-JUV/BUFFON (PIX), moved, 300 words)

La Liga

Iniesta, Torres bid farewell as La Liga season ends

MADRID - It will be a weekend of goodbyes in Spain as the Liga season draws to a close, with Barcelona’s Andres Iniesta and Atletico Madrid’s Fernando Torres set to play their last games for their boyhood clubs. (SOCCER-SPAIN/PREVIEW, moved, 400 words)

World Cup

France coach Deschamps talks about his World Cup squad

PARIS - France coach Didier Deschamps holds a news conference after announcing his list of selected players for the World Cup in Russia. (SOCCER-WORLDCUP-FRA/DESCHAMPS (TV), expect by 1800 GMT/2 PM ET, by Julien Pretot, 400 words)

Portugal coach Fernando Santos to name his World Cup squad

MADRID - Portugal coach Fernando Santos to unveil his squad for the 2018 FIFA World Cup in Russia. (SOCCER-WORLDCUP-POR/ (TV), expect by 1915 GMT/3:15 PM ET, 400 words)

Youngsters were best England had, says boss Southgate

LONDON - England’s youthful World Cup squad is not the result of a policy to pick young players but simply a question of choosing the best talent in the best form, manager Gareth Southgate said on Thursday. (SOCCER-WORLDCUP-ENG/ (PIX, TV), moved, by Simon Evans, 400 words)

Senegal coach Cisse to name squad

DAKAR - Senegal will announce their squad for the World Cup at a press conference hosted by coach Aliou Cisse. The west Africans meet Poland, Japan and Colombia in Group H. (SOCCER-WORLDCUP-SEN/, expect by 1415 GMT/10 AM ET, 300 words)

Bundesliga relegation playoff

VfL Wolfsburg v Holstein Kiel (first leg)

WOLFSBURG - Bundesliga club VfL Wolfsburg host Holstein Kiel, who finished third in the second division, in the first leg of their relegation/promotion playoff. (SOCCER-GERMANY-WOB-HKI/ (TV), expect by 1830 GMT/2:30 PM ET, by Karolos Grohmann, 300 words)

WADA

Russia on WADA Foundation board agenda

MONTREAL - The World Anti-Doping Agency holds its annual Foundation board meeting in Montreal where members are expecting an update on Russia’s efforts to reach compliance. (SPORT-DOPING/WADA, expect by 2100 GMT/5 PM ET, by Steve Keating, 300 words)

TENNIS

Italian Open

Halep and Wozniacki in action

Top seed Simona Halep was handed a walkover against injured American Madison Keys in the Italian Open last 16, while second seed Caroline Wozniacki takes on Anastasija Sevastova of Latvia. (TENNIS-ROME/WOMEN (PIX), expect by 2000 GMT/4 PM ET, 300 words)

Djokovic eyes first quarter-final of 2018

ROME - Former world number one Novak Djokovic will face Spain’s Albert Ramos-Vinolas in the last 16 of the Italian Open. (TENNIS-ROME/MEN (PIX, TV), expect by 2000 GMT/4 PM ET, 300 words)

CYCLING

Giro d’Italia

Simon Yates retains the overall lead heading into stage 12 of the Giro d’Italia, a 213-kilometre ride from Osimo to Imola. (CYCLING-GIRO/ (TV), expect by 1700 GMT/1 PM ET, 300 words)

GOLF

PGA Tour: AT&T Byron Nelson (to 20) Dallas, Texas

Spieth, Garcia and Scott in action

World number three Jordan Spieth heads a field at Trinity Forest Golf Club that includes former U.S. Masters champions Sergio Garcia of Spain and Australian Adam Scott as well as defending champion Bill Horschel. (GOLF-BYRONNELSON/, expect by by 2330 GMT/7:30 PM ET, 400 words)

NHL

Caps try to push Lightning to brink

The Washington Capitals try to push the Tampa Bay Lightning to the brink of elimination from the Stanley Cup Playoffs when they take a 2-1 series lead into Game Four of the best-of-seven Eastern Conference final. (ICEHOCKEY-NHL/HIGHLIGHTS, expect by 0330 GMT/11:30 PM, ET, by Field Level Media, 500 words)

BASEBALL

Dodgers Maeda faces Marlins, Giants host Rockies

Japanese right-hander Kenta Maeda takes the mound for the Los Angeles Dodgers versus the host Miami Marlins while the San Francisco Giants host the Colorado Rockies in two of the 10 games on the Major League Baseball schedule. (BASEBALL-MLB/HIGHLIGHTS, expect by 0330 GMT/11:30 PM ET, by Field Level Media, 800 words)

NORTH AMERICAN SPORTS

Roundups of off-field developments in the major North American professional sports leagues. (Expect by 0000 GMT/8 PM ET, by Field Level Media, 500 words) (Europe Desk Editor: Toby Davis)

0 : 0
  • narrow-browser-and-phone
  • medium-browser-and-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser
  • wide-browser-and-larger
  • medium-browser-and-landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser-and-larger
  • above-phone
  • portrait-tablet-and-above
  • above-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet-and-above
  • landscape-tablet-and-medium-wide-browser
  • portrait-tablet-and-below
  • landscape-tablet-and-below