April 10, 2018 / 11:19 AM / a year ago

Brazil's Temer officially nominates new slate of ministers

Brazil's President Michel Temer attends the ceremony for the inauguration of the new President of the Brazilian National Development Bank (BNDES) Dyogo Henrique de Oliveira, in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil April 9, 2018. REUTERS/Ricardo Moraes

SAO PAULO (Reuters) - Brazilian President Michel Temer has officially nominated 11 new ministers, the government’s official bulletin said on Tuesday, giving continuity to the government’s reform programme ahead of the general elections in October.

While the names were previously known, the formal nomination will allow the officials to take up their posts at a ceremony scheduled for 3 p.m. local time (1800 GMT).

It is common in Brazil to see heavy ministerial turnover during an election year, as ministers leave office in order to run for elected positions.

Among the ministers nominated are the following: Marcos Jorge de Lima as industry and commerce minister, Wellington Moreira Franco as mining and energy minister, Eduardo Guardia as finance minister, Esteves Colnago as planning minister, and Helton Yomura as labour minister.

Reporting by Gram Slattery; Editing by Bernadette Baum

0 : 0
  • narrow-browser-and-phone
  • medium-browser-and-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser
  • wide-browser-and-larger
  • medium-browser-and-landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser-and-larger
  • above-phone
  • portrait-tablet-and-above
  • above-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet-and-above
  • landscape-tablet-and-medium-wide-browser
  • portrait-tablet-and-below
  • landscape-tablet-and-below