Reuters logo
Chandimal to captain Sri Lanka in first two one-dayers
July 17, 2013 / 3:02 PM / 4 years ago

Chandimal to captain Sri Lanka in first two one-dayers

COLOMBO (Reuters) - Dinesh Chandimal will captain Sri Lanka in place of suspended skipper Angelo Mathews in the first two one-day internationals of the five-match series against South Africa in Colombo.

Mathews misses the games on July 20 and 23 after being given a two-match ban by the International Cricket Council (ICC) for maintaining a slow over rate in the Tri-Nation series final defeat to India in the West Indies last week.

Uncapped batsman Angelo Perera was included in the 14-man squad announced by the national selectors on Wednesday.

Left-hander Jehan Mubarak, whose last ODI was in January 2009, Tillakaratne Dilshan and Thisara Perera were recalled.

Dilshan missed the West Indies tri-series with a calf injury and Perera was left out of the side after a poor Champions Trophy tournament.

Sri Lanka squad: Dinesh Chandimal (captain), Lahiru Thirimanne (vice-captain), Tillakaratne Dilshan, Upul Tharanga, Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardene, Angelo Perera, Jehan Mubarak, Rangana Herath, Sachithra Senanayake, Ajantha Mendis, Lasith Malinga, Shaminda Eranga, Thisara Perera, Suranga Lakmal.

Editing By Alison Wildey

Our Standards:The Thomson Reuters Trust Principles.
0 : 0
  • narrow-browser-and-phone
  • medium-browser-and-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser
  • wide-browser-and-larger
  • medium-browser-and-landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser-and-larger
  • above-phone
  • portrait-tablet-and-above
  • above-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet-and-above
  • landscape-tablet-and-medium-wide-browser
  • portrait-tablet-and-below
  • landscape-tablet-and-below