June 14, 2018 / 4:20 AM / 8 months ago

India bat in Afghanistan's debut test

BENGALURU (Reuters) - Indian captain Ajinkya Rahane won the toss and elected to bat against Afghanistan who make their test debut in the one-off match at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru on Thursday.

Cricket - India v Afghanistan - Indian Team's Press Conference - Bengaluru, India – June 13, 2018 – India's test cricket team captain Ajinkya Rahane addresses a news conference. REUTERS/Abhishek N. Chinnappa

Led by Asghar Stanikzai, Afghanistan become the 12th test playing nation in less than two decades after being recognised by International Cricket Council (ICC) in 2001.

“It’s a very proud moment,” Stanikzai said at the toss. “All the guys have some first-class experience, but our first test, obviously.

“Maybe the first one hour it will be a good wicket for bowling.”

The visitors are playing two quicks in Wafadar and Yamin Ahmadzai, who will look to make full use of a grass-covered track in the opening session.

Rahane is leading the Indian side in the absence of regular skipper Virat Kohli, who is recovering from a neck injury.

Wicketkeeper Dinesh Karthik, who replaces injured Wriddhiman Saha, returns to the test set-up for the first time since 2010.


India: Ajinkya Rahane (captain), Murali Vijay, Shikhar Dhawan, Cheteshwar Pujara, KL Rahul, Dinesh Karthik (wicketkeeper), Hardik Pandya, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav.

Afghanistan: Asghar Stanikzai (captain), Mohammad Shahzad, Javed Ahmadi, Rahmat Shah, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Mohammad Nabi, Afsar Zazai (wicketkeeper), Rashid Khan, Yamin Ahmadzai, Wafadar, Mujeeb Ur Rahman.

Reporting by Hardik Vyas in Bengaluru; Editing by Amlan Chakraborty

0 : 0
  • narrow-browser-and-phone
  • medium-browser-and-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser
  • wide-browser-and-larger
  • medium-browser-and-landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser-and-larger
  • above-phone
  • portrait-tablet-and-above
  • above-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet-and-above
  • landscape-tablet-and-medium-wide-browser
  • portrait-tablet-and-below
  • landscape-tablet-and-below