March 28, 2018 / 8:16 AM / a year ago

Factbox - New Zealand v England second test

WELLINGTON (Reuters) - Factbox ahead of the second test between New Zealand and England beginning at Hagley Oval in Christchurch on Friday (match starts at 2300 GMT):


Hagley Oval, Christchurch. Capacity - 8,000

While cricket was first played on Hagley Park in 1867 and it hosted the inaugural first-class match in New Zealand in 1907, matches were held at the venue infrequently before they were moved to Lancaster Park in the inner-east of the city from 1930.

Local cricket officials, however, were forced to develop a new international venue after the Feb. 22, 2011 earthquake devastated much of central Christchurch, including Lancaster Park, although the construction of new stands was making it more rectangular and less suited for cricket matches anyway.

The ground on the vast green space of Hagley Park on the western edges of the central city was awarded the opening game of the 2015 World Cup before it had been given planning permission.

The 8,000-capacity venue hosted its first test match in December, 2014 when New Zealand played Sri Lanka - the first international cricket match involving the home side in the city since the earthquake.

New Zealand have won three of their four tests on the venue, with the only loss against Australia in 2016 where former captain Brendon McCullum belted the world’s fastest century in his final match before retiring from internationals.


Umpires: Marais Erasmus (South Africa), Bruce Oxenford (Australia)

TV official: Paul Reiffel (Australia)

Fourth official: Shaun Haig (New Zealand)

Match referee: Richie Richardson (West Indies)


Test ranking: 4

Captain: Kane Williamson

Coach: Mike Hesson

Squad: Jeet Raval, Tom Latham, Kane Williamson, Ross Taylor, Henry Nicholls, Colin de Grandhomme, BJ Watling, Tim Southee, Ish Sodhi, Matt Henry, Neil Wagner, Trent Boult, Martin Guptill


Test ranking: 5

Captain: Joe Root

Coach: Trevor Bayliss

Squad: Alastair Cook, Mark Stoneman, James Vince, Joe Root, Dawid Malan, Ben Stokes, Jonny Bairstow, Moeen Ali, Chris Woakes, Stuart Broad, Mark Wood, Jimmy Anderson, Liam Livingstone, Jack Leach, Craig Overton, Ben Foakes


Previous New Zealand v England tests in Christchurch (Lancaster Park)

Matches: 15

New Zealand wins: 1

England wins: 8

Draws: 6

Recent results:

2002 - England won by 98 runs

1997 - England won by four wickets

1992 - England won by an innings & four runs

1988 - Match drawn

1984 - New Zealand won by an innings & 132 runs


Total: 102

New Zealand wins: 10

England wins: 48

Draws: 44


Total: 48

New Zealand wins: 5

England wins: 18

Draws: 25


2018 - New Zealand won by innings & 49 runs Auckland

2015 - New Zealand won by 199 runs Leeds

2015 - England won by 124 runs London

2013 - England won by 247 runs Leeds

2013 - England won by 170 runs London

2013 - Match drawn Auckland

2013 - Match drawn Wellington

2013 - Match drawn Dunedin

2008 - England won by innings & nine runs Nottingham

2008 - England won by six wickets Manchester

Compiled by Greg Stutchbury; Editing by Amlan Chakraborty

0 : 0
  • narrow-browser-and-phone
  • medium-browser-and-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser
  • wide-browser-and-larger
  • medium-browser-and-landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser-and-larger
  • above-phone
  • portrait-tablet-and-above
  • above-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet-and-above
  • landscape-tablet-and-medium-wide-browser
  • portrait-tablet-and-below
  • landscape-tablet-and-below