March 13, 2020 / 3:11 PM / a month ago

Hong Kong says travellers from European Schengen countries to undergo quarantine

FILE PHOTO: A passenger wears a protective face mask at the airport, following the outbreak of the new coronavirus, in Hong Kong, China March 5, 2020. REUTERS/Tyrone Siu

HONG KONG (Reuters) - Hong Kong will from March 17 require travellers from countries in Europe’s Schengen border-free travel zone to undergo a 14-day quarantine upon arrival, its government said on Friday.

It also issued a red outbound travel alert on European countries, urging the public planning to travel to those countries to adjust their plans and avoid non-essential trips.

Reporting by Meg Shen; Editing by Alison Williams

0 : 0
  • narrow-browser-and-phone
  • medium-browser-and-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser
  • wide-browser-and-larger
  • medium-browser-and-landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser-and-larger
  • above-phone
  • portrait-tablet-and-above
  • above-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet-and-above
  • landscape-tablet-and-medium-wide-browser
  • portrait-tablet-and-below
  • landscape-tablet-and-below