June 7, 2017 / 4:30 PM / 8 months ago

Formula One statistics for the Canadian Grand Prix

(Reuters) - Statistics for Sunday’s Canadian Grand Prix (Round seven of 20 races):

Lap distance: 4.361km. Total distance: 305.270km (70 laps)

Race lap record: Rubens Barrichello (Brazil), Ferrari 2004, One minute 13.622 seconds.

2016 pole: Lewis Hamilton (Britain), Mercedes, 1:12.812

2016 winner: Hamilton

Start time: 1800 GMT (1400 local)


Champions Mercedes have won 54 of 65 races since the introduction of the 1.6 litre V6 turbo hybrid power units in 2014, but only three of six this season.

Triple world champion Hamilton has 55 career victories, putting him second in the all-time list behind Michael Schumacher (91). Ferrari’s Sebastian Vettel has 45, McLaren’s Fernando Alonso is on 32 and Ferrari’s Kimi Raikkonen 20.

Ferrari have won 227 races, McLaren 182, Williams 114, Mercedes 67 and Red Bull 52. McLaren and Williams have not won since 2012.

Monaco was Ferrari’s first one-two finish since 2010 (German Grand Prix). The Italian team have not won four races or more in a season since 2010.


Mercedes have been on pole in 60 of the last 65 races.

Hamilton has 64 poles so far, one short of the late Ayrton Senna’s career total and four behind Schumacher’s record 68.

Raikkonen’s pole in Monaco was his first since 2008.


Hamilton has 108 podiums to date and is second on the all-time list behind Schumacher (155). Vettel has 92, Raikkonen 86.

Monaco ended a 21-race podium streak by Mercedes, the fourth longest such run in the sport’s history.


McLaren are the only team yet to score in 2017.

Monaco saw the end of Mexican Sergio Perez’s run of 15 successive races in the points for Force India. Vettel and Hamilton, each with 11 scoring finishes in a row, are the new leaders.

Force India’s proud boast of being the only team to have scored with both cars in every race this season also ended.


This year marks the Canadian Grand Prix’s 50th anniversary.

Hamilton has won it five times (in 2007, 2010, 2012, 2015, 2016) and this year’s race is also the 10th anniversary of his first. Michael Schumacher won a record seven times in Canada.

Alonso, Daniel Ricciardo, Raikkonen and Vettel are also previous winners in Canada.

Ferrari last won in Montreal, a circuit named after their late great Gilles Villeneuve, in 2004 with Michael Schumacher.

McLaren have won 13 times in Canada to Ferrari’s 11.

Since 2000, the race has been won from pole seven times.

The rain-hit Canadian Grand Prix of 2011 was Formula One’s longest race, lasting four hours, four minutes and 39.537 seconds. The safety car was deployed six times, another record.


Williams rookie Lance Stroll will be the first Canadian to start his home race since Jacques Villeneuve in 2006.

Monaco saw the first ever double points finish by the U.S.-owned Haas team.

Reporting by Alan Baldwin, editing by Toby Davis

0 : 0
  • narrow-browser-and-phone
  • medium-browser-and-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser
  • wide-browser-and-larger
  • medium-browser-and-landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser-and-larger
  • above-phone
  • portrait-tablet-and-above
  • above-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet-and-above
  • landscape-tablet-and-medium-wide-browser
  • portrait-tablet-and-below
  • landscape-tablet-and-below