October 3, 2018 / 10:39 AM / a year ago

Formula One statistics for the Japanese Grand Prix

(Reuters) - Statistics for Sunday’s Japanese Formula One Grand Prix in Suzuka:

Lap distance: 5.807 km. Total distance: 307.471 km (53 laps)

2017 pole: Lewis Hamilton (Britain) Mercedes one minute 27.319 seconds.

2017 winner: Hamilton

Race lap record: Kimi Raikkonen (Finland) McLaren 1:31.540 (2005)

Start time: 1410 local (0510 GMT)


Hamilton and Vettel have both won four times in Japan.

Mercedes have won the last four Japanese Grands Prix.

Ferrari have not won at Suzuka since Michael Schumacher’s last Japanese success in 2004. Schumacher won the Japanese Grand Prix a record six times.

Fernando Alonso (2006 and 2008) and Raikkonen (2005) are also past winners in Japan.

In 29 races at Suzuka, the winner has come from the front row on 25 occasions and been on pole in 14. Raikkonen is the standout exception, winning from 17th on the grid in 2005.

Seven of the last 13 winners have started on pole.

There have been 33 Japanese Grands Prix since 1976, four of them at Fuji. There is no home driver at present but Honda own the Suzuka circuit and power Toro Rosso.


Hamilton has eight wins this season to Vettel’s five. Daniel Ricciardo has two and Max Verstappen one.

Hamilton has 70 victories from 224 races and is second in the all-time list behind seven-times world champion Michael Schumacher (91). Vettel, third on the all-time list, has 52.

Ferrari’s Kimi Raikkonen has now gone 110 races since his 20th and last win, in Australia in 2013.

Ferrari have won 234 races since 1950, McLaren 182, Williams 114, Mercedes 84 and Red Bull 58. Former champions McLaren and Williams have not won since 2012.


Hamilton has a record 79 career poles, Vettel 55.

Verstappen, who turned 21 in Russia last Sunday, can still become the youngest ever pole sitter. The current youngest is Vettel, who did it at 21 years and 72 days.


Hamilton has 130 career podiums and is second on the all-time list behind Schumacher (155). Vettel has 109, Raikkonen 100.

Mercedes’ Valtteri Bottas has had six second-place finishes this season.


Hamilton leads Vettel by 50 points with five races left, meaning he can take his fifth title without having to win again.

Mercedes are 53 points ahead of Ferrari in the constructors’ championship and also on course to wrap up the title before the final round.

Every driver on the starting grid has scored this season.


Hamilton can take his 80th pole on Saturday.

The Russian Grand Prix was Raikkonen’s 200th points finish. Only Schumacher and Alonso have more.

Reporting by Alan Baldwin; Editing by John O'Brien

0 : 0
  • narrow-browser-and-phone
  • medium-browser-and-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser
  • wide-browser-and-larger
  • medium-browser-and-landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser-and-larger
  • above-phone
  • portrait-tablet-and-above
  • above-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet-and-above
  • landscape-tablet-and-medium-wide-browser
  • portrait-tablet-and-below
  • landscape-tablet-and-below