for-phone-onlyfor-tablet-portrait-upfor-tablet-landscape-upfor-desktop-upfor-wide-desktop-up

Fuel truck drivers vote for strike in northern England - union

FILE PHOTO: A fuel tax protestor sits in his truck on the Westway in London after a rally in Hyde Park November 14, 2000.

LONDON (Reuters) - Hoyer Petrolog fuel truck drivers based in the north of England have voted overwhelmingly in favour of 14-day strike action in November, Britain’s Unite union said on Friday.

“The strikes will cause considerable disruption to fuel supplies for road users and the aviation sector in northern England,” Unite said.

It was not entirely clear what operations the strikes would affect.

Unite said the drivers were based at Essar’s Stanlow refinery.

But the owner, Essar Oil UK, denied that drivers were based there and added refinery operations and availability of transport fuels were not affected.

When contacted again, Unite insisted drivers were loading fuels at Stanlow.

Unite announced strike action on Nov. 2, 4, 6, 9, 10, 12, 13, 15, 16, 17, 20, 23, 25 and 27.

All of the strikes will begin at 0001 BST (2301 GMT) and end at 2359 BST (2259 GMT).

Reporting by Ahmad Ghaddar; Editing by David Goodman, Louise Heavens and Catherine Evans

for-phone-onlyfor-tablet-portrait-upfor-tablet-landscape-upfor-desktop-upfor-wide-desktop-up