Reuters logo
Factbox - New Super Rugby format at a glance
April 9, 2017 / 9:42 AM / 7 months ago

Factbox - New Super Rugby format at a glance

SYDNEY (Reuters) - New structure of the Super Rugby competition for next season after governing body SANZAAR announced the culling of three as yet to be determined teams on Sunday:

* 120 match regular season plus seven finals

* 15 teams

* Three conferences (New Zealand, Australia, South Africa)

* Japan’s Sunwolves to play in Australia conference, Argentina’s Jaguares in South Africa.

* 18 rounds (16 matches per team, two bye weeks)

* Each team will play eight matches within its conference (four home and four away)

* Each team will play eight cross-conference matches – against four of the five teams from the other two conferences (four at home and four away)

* Each team will have played 12 of the other teams within the season (85 percent which is up from 70 percent under 2016-17 format).

* Eight team playoffs: Three conference winners and five wild card places – the next best performing teams after the conference winners regardless of conference.


Reporting by Nick Mulvenney, editing by Amlan Chakraborty

Our Standards:The Thomson Reuters Trust Principles.
0 : 0
  • narrow-browser-and-phone
  • medium-browser-and-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser
  • wide-browser-and-larger
  • medium-browser-and-landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser-and-larger
  • above-phone
  • portrait-tablet-and-above
  • above-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet-and-above
  • landscape-tablet-and-medium-wide-browser
  • portrait-tablet-and-below
  • landscape-tablet-and-below