Reuters logo
Roberts to lead Wales on summer tour against Tonga and Samoa
May 9, 2017 / 11:57 AM / 6 months ago

Roberts to lead Wales on summer tour against Tonga and Samoa

(Reuters) - Harlequins centre Jamie Roberts will captain Wales on their two-test summer tour as coach Robin McBryde named 13 uncapped players in his 32-man squad for the campaign on Tuesday.

Rugby Union - Harlequins v Montpellier - European Rugby Challenge Cup Final - Grand Stade de Lyon, France - 15/16 - 13/5/16 Jamie Roberts of Harlequins Action Images via Reuters / Henry Browne EDITORIAL USE ONLY. - RTSFE82

Wales take on Tonga on June 16 at Eden Park in Auckland and a week later face Samoa in Apia.

“I‘m immensely honoured,” the 30-year-old, who has made 91 appearances for the national side, said in a statement.

“I‘m excited for the new players in the squad as they get the chance to test themselves at this level, and also for the more established players who now have a chance to become leaders in this team.”

Among the 13 uncapped players in the Welsh party, Seb Davies, Adam Beard, Ryan Elias, Ollie Griffiths, Wyn Jones, Rory Thornton and Thomas Young could feature in the forward line.

Wales will be missing 12 players, including captain Alun Wyn Jones, who are a part of Warren Gatland’s British and Irish Lions squad for the New Zealand tour.

Wales squad: Forwards: Scott Baldwin (Ospreys), Jake Ball (Scarlets), Adam Beard (Ospreys), Kristian Dacey (Cardiff Blues), Seb Davies (Cardiff Blues), Ryan Elias (Scarlets), Rob Evans (Scarlets), Tomas Francis (Exeter Chiefs), Ollie Griffiths (Newport Gwent Dragons), Cory Hill (Newport Gwent Dragons), Ellis Jenkins (Cardiff Blues), Wyn Jones (Scarlets), James King (Ospreys), Samson Lee (Scarlets), Josh Navidi (Cardiff Blues), Nicky Smith (Ospreys), Rory Thornton (Ospreys), Thomas Young (Wasps).

Backs: Cory Allen (Cardiff Blues), Gareth Anscombe (Cardiff Blues), Alex Cuthbert (Cardiff Blues), Aled Davies (Scarlets), Gareth Davies (Scarlets), Sam Davies (Ospreys), Steff Evans (Scarlets), Keelan Giles (Ospreys), Tyler Morgan (Newport Gwent Dragons), Jamie Roberts (captain, Harlequins), Owen Williams (Leicester Tigers), Rhun Williams (Cardiff Blues), Scott Williams (Scarlets), Tomos Williams (Cardiff Blues).

Reporting by Hardik Vyas in Bengaluru; editing by Richard Lough

Our Standards:The Thomson Reuters Trust Principles.
0 : 0
  • narrow-browser-and-phone
  • medium-browser-and-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser
  • wide-browser-and-larger
  • medium-browser-and-landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser-and-larger
  • above-phone
  • portrait-tablet-and-above
  • above-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet-and-above
  • landscape-tablet-and-medium-wide-browser
  • portrait-tablet-and-below
  • landscape-tablet-and-below