March 1, 2007 / 9:27 PM / 13 years ago

African Footballer of the Year winners

ACCRA (Reuters) - Full list of African Footballer of the Year award winners:

1970: Salif Keita (St Etienne and Mali)

1971: Ibrahim Sunday (Asante Kotoko and Ghana)

1972: Cherif Souleymane (Hafia and Guinea)

1973: Tshimen Bwanga (TP Mazembe Englebert and Zaire)

1974: Paul Moukila (CARA Brazzaville and Congo)

1975: Ahmed Faras (Mohammedia and Morocco)

1976: Roger Milla (Canon Yaounde and Cameroon)

1977: Tarak Dhiab (Esperance and Tunisia)

1978: Karim Abdoul Razak (Asante Kotoko and Ghana)

1979: Thomas Nkono (Canon Yaounde and Cameroon)

1980: Jean Manga Onguene (Canon Yaounde and Cameroon)

1981: Lakhdar Belloumi (GCR Mascara and Algeria)

1982: Thomas Nkono (Espanyol and Cameroon)

1983: Mahmoud Al Khatib (Al Ahli and Egypt)

1984: Theophile Abega (Toulouse and Cameroon)

1985: Mohamed Timoumi (Royal Armed Forces and Morocco)

1986: Badou Ezaki (Real Mallorca and Morocco)

1987: Rabah Madjer (Porto and Algeria)

1988: Kalusha Bwalya (Cercle Bruges and Zambia)

1989: George Weah (Monaco and Liberia)

1990: Roger Milla (St Denis, Reunion and Cameroon)

1991: Abedi Pele Ayew (Olympique Marseille and Ghana)

1992: Abedi Pele Ayew (Olympique Marseille and Ghana)

1993: Abedi Pele Ayew (Olympique Lyon and Ghana)

1994: George Weah (Paris St Germain and Liberia) and Emmanuel Amunike (Sporting Lisbon and Nigeria)

1995: George Weah (AC Milan and Liberia)

1996: Nwankwo Kanu (Inter Milan and Nigeria)

1997: Victor Ikpeba (Monaco and Nigeria)

1998: Mustapha Hadji (Deportivo Coruna and Morocco)

1999: Nwankwo Kanu (Arsenal and Nigeria)

2000: Patrick Mboma (Parma and Cameroon)

2001: El Hadji Diouf (Rennes and Senegal)

2002: El Hadji Diouf (Liverpool and Senegal)

2003: Samuel Eto’o (Real Mallorca and Cameroon)

2004: Samuel Eto’o (Barcelona and Cameroon)

2005: Samuel Eto’o (Barcelona and Cameroon)

2006: Didier Drogba (Chelsea and Ivory Coast)

Note: The award was organised by the French soccer magazine ‘France Football’ until 1994, after which the Confederation of African Football instituted a new award.

0 : 0
  • narrow-browser-and-phone
  • medium-browser-and-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser
  • wide-browser-and-larger
  • medium-browser-and-landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser-and-larger
  • above-phone
  • portrait-tablet-and-above
  • above-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet-and-above
  • landscape-tablet-and-medium-wide-browser
  • portrait-tablet-and-below
  • landscape-tablet-and-below