May 7, 2019 / 11:20 AM / 2 months ago

FIFA ensures gender parity with two new women's honours at annual awards

FILE PHOTO: A flag with the logo of the Women's World Cup France 2019 flies beside two others in front of the FIFA headquarters in Zurich, Switzerland March 13, 2019. REUTERS/Arnd Wiegmann/File Photo

(Reuters) - FIFA will introduce awards for the best women’s goalkeeper as well as the women’s team of the year during its annual Best Football Awards, world soccer’s governing body said.

The move ensures both men and women will now claim awards in the same categories, with this year’s winners set to be crowned in Milan on Sept. 23.

"It is yet another step in the right direction to raise the profile of women's football," FIFA's deputy secretary general Zvonimir Boban said in a statement here

“FIFA is certain that France will host a groundbreaking edition of the Women’s World Cup this year, so I cannot think of a better moment to introduce these new awards.”

Reporting by Shrivathsa Sridhar in Bengaluru, editing by Pritha Sarkar

0 : 0
  • narrow-browser-and-phone
  • medium-browser-and-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser
  • wide-browser-and-larger
  • medium-browser-and-landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser-and-larger
  • above-phone
  • portrait-tablet-and-above
  • above-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet-and-above
  • landscape-tablet-and-medium-wide-browser
  • portrait-tablet-and-below
  • landscape-tablet-and-below