October 17, 2013 / 3:35 PM / 6 years ago

Saudi, Chad, Nigeria, Chile, Lithuania elected to U.N. Security Council

UNITED NATIONS (Reuters) - Saudi Arabia, Chad, Nigeria, Chile and Lithuania were elected by the 193-member U.N. General Assembly on Thursday to serve a two-year term on the U.N. Security Council.

They will replace Azerbaijan, Guatemala, Morocco, Pakistan and Togo on the 15-member Security Council on January 1, 2014. All five countries were elected unopposed, but they still needed approval from two-thirds of the General Assembly to secure their seats.

There are five veto-holding permanent members of the council - the United States, Britain, France, Russia and China - and 10 temporary members without veto power.

Reporting by Michelle Nichols; Editing by Eric Beech

0 : 0
  • narrow-browser-and-phone
  • medium-browser-and-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser
  • wide-browser-and-larger
  • medium-browser-and-landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser-and-larger
  • above-phone
  • portrait-tablet-and-above
  • above-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet-and-above
  • landscape-tablet-and-medium-wide-browser
  • portrait-tablet-and-below
  • landscape-tablet-and-below