Reuters - Video

Edition: US | UK | IN | CN | JP

video Tech Videos

Three-man crew launches to space station

Friday, July 28, 2017 - 00:55

A trio of astronauts from the United States, Russia and Italy headed for the International Space Station on Friday (July 28), a step toward boosting U.S. research projects aboard the orbiting laboratory. Rough Cut (no reporter narration).

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

ROUGH CUT - NATURAL (NO REPORTER NARRATION) A trio of astronauts from the United States, Russia and Italy headed for the International Space Station on Friday (July 28), a step toward boosting U.S. research projects aboard the orbiting laboratory. The Russian Soyuz rocket carrying the three spaceflight veterans blasted off at 11:41 a.m. EDT/1541 GMT from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan, a NASA TV broadcast showed. Randy Bresnik, with the U.S. National Aeronautics and Space Administration; Sergey Ryazanskiy, with the Russian space agency Roscosmos; and Italy's Paolo Nespoli, with the European Space Agency, were slated to reach the station at 6 p.m. EDT/2200 GMT. The men will join three crew members already aboard the station, a $100 billion lab that flies about 250 miles (400 km) above Earth. Their arrival will mean NASA for the first time has four crew members instead of three available for medical experiments, technology demonstrations and other research aboard the station, the U.S. space agency said.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

Three-man crew launches to space station

Friday, July 28, 2017 - 00:55