Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Top News

World leaders congratulate Obama

Wednesday, 07 Nov, 2012 - 01:15

Nov.7 - Leaders of Britain, Germany and Canada send congratulatory messages to U.S. President Barack Obama after his re-election. Simon Hanna reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

British Prime Minister David Cameron takes time out during a visit to Jordan to congratulate U.S. President Barack Obama on his re-election. Cameron is in Jordan to discuss the Syrian crisis and said that he hoped to work with the U.S. president to find a solution to the conflict. (SOUNDBITE) (English) BRITISH PRIME MINISTER DAVID CAMERON: "I am hearing appalling stories of what is happening inside Syria and one of the first things I want to talk to Barack about is how we must do more to try and solve this crisis. But above all congratulations to Barack, I enjoy working with him, I think he is a very successful American president and I look forward to working with him in the future." German chancellor Angela Merkel also expressed her "heartfelt congratulations" to the President and told reporters that she was looking forward to continued trans-Atlantic cooperation. Meanwhile Canadian Prime Minister Stephen Harper also delivered a message of congratulations to Obama during a visit to India. (SOUNDBITE) (English) CANADIAN PRIME MINISTER STEPHEN HARPER: "I congratulate President Obama on his victory and his really hard fought election. We look forward to working with the president for the next four years. We have had a very good and productive working relationship." Obama won a second term as president overcoming stiff opposition from Republican challenger Mitt Romney.

World leaders congratulate Obama

Wednesday, 07 Nov, 2012 - 01:15

Editors' Picks »

Oddly Enough »

Nowhere to hide for this horror film Nowhere to hide for this horror film

Mon, 15 Sep, 2014 - (0:48)

Mexico dishes up creepy crawly fare Mexico dishes up creepy crawly fare

Sun, 14 Sep, 2014 - (1:31)

Lion cubs the pride of San Diego Zoo Lion cubs the pride of San Diego Zoo

Sat, 13 Sep, 2014 - (0:46)

Holy cow, get me outta here! Holy cow, get me outta here!

Tue, 09 Sep, 2014 - (0:21)

Enough tacos to feed a village Enough tacos to feed a village

Mon, 08 Sep, 2014 - (0:46)

Giant rabbit just laying about in Taiwan Giant rabbit just laying about in Taiwan

Mon, 08 Sep, 2014 - (1:07)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, 19 Feb, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, 10 Jan, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, 05 Aug, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, 17 Dec, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sun, 09 Dec, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Mon, 10 Dec, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, 05 Sep, 2014 - (2:05)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, 29 Aug, 2014 - (1:00)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, 01 Sep, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, 22 Aug, 2014 - (3:12)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, 11 Aug, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, 08 Aug, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Fri, 01 Aug, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, 11 Jul, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Thu, 03 Jul, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, 20 Jun, 2014 - (3:04)