Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Top News

Man killed in UK floods

Saturday, November 24, 2012 - 01:01

Nov. 24 - An elderly man dies after his car was swept away in heavy flooding in southwest Britain, as autumn brings more rain to the country following summer floods. Sarah Charlton reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

Areas of Britain are left underwater, after torrential rain caused severe flooding in south west England and Wales. In Somerset, an elderly man died on Thursday (November 22) after his car was swept away by flood waters. He suffered a fatal cardiac arrest on the way to hospital after being rescued by emergency services. Elsewhere in the country and flooding caused a major landslip in the city of Bath, damaging a number of properties. SOUNDBITE: BATH RESIDENT, DEBBIE CANT, SAYING (English): "Some people heard it, heard the land fall. The edge of his flat, the patio has fallen down and then this house literally looks like it is kind of hanging." Heavy rains and winds of more than 86 miles per hour (138 kph) have left thousands of homes without power. And for some the onslaught may be far from over. Forecasters have warned that the southwest can expect further wind and rain over the next few days.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

Man killed in UK floods

Saturday, November 24, 2012 - 01:01

Top News »

Oddly Enough »

Never too old to fly a hot-air balloon Never too old to fly a hot-air balloon

Tue, 30 Sep, 2014 - (0:51)

Never too old to fly a hot-air balloon Never too old to fly a hot-air balloon

Tue, 30 Sep, 2014 - (0:51)

Brazilian artist grows bamboo to make instruments Brazilian artist grows bamboo to make...

Tue, 30 Sep, 2014 - (1:12)

Dogs hang ten Dogs hang ten

Tue, 30 Sep, 2014 - (0:28)

In the ink at the London Tattoo Convention In the ink at the London Tattoo Convention

Mon, 29 Sep, 2014 - (1:01)

Gromit to go in Hong Kong Gromit to go in Hong Kong

Mon, 29 Sep, 2014 - (1:15)

Rare white waterbuck calf at San Diego Zoo Rare white waterbuck calf at San Diego Zoo

Mon, 29 Sep, 2014 - (0:38)

Weekly animal round up Weekly animal round up

Sun, 28 Sep, 2014 - (1:07)

Japanese company unveils robot cheerleaders Japanese company unveils robot cheerleaders

Thu, 25 Sep, 2014 - (1:09)

Moving Pictures »

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, 05 Sep, 2014 - (2:05)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, 29 Aug, 2014 - (1:00)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, 01 Sep, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, 22 Aug, 2014 - (3:12)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, 11 Aug, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, 08 Aug, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Fri, 01 Aug, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, 11 Jul, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Thu, 03 Jul, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, 20 Jun, 2014 - (3:04)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, 19 Feb, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, 10 Jan, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, 05 Aug, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, 17 Dec, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sun, 09 Dec, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Mon, 10 Dec, 2012 - (10:39)