Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Top News

Mourners converge on Newtown in sign of support

Monday, 24 Dec, 2012 - 01:29

Dec. 23 - Visitors congregate in Newtown, Connecticut, to pay tribute to the victims of the Sandy Hook Elementary School massacre. Deborah Lutterbeck reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

Traffic moves slowly as people converge on Newtown Connecticut. They have come to pay their respect to the 20 children and six adults gunned down at Sandy Hook Elementary School. It's the kind of attention that no community wants. They come from all over the country in a show of support. (SOUNDBITE) (English) HENRIETTA BASCOMB VISITOR TO NEWTOWN FROM PRATTVILLE, ALABAMA, SAYING: "I'm a mom of two sons and eight grandchildren and so my heart breaks for them, so. Evil came to the town, that's for sure and took the lives of precious children." (SOUNDBITE) (English) UNIDENTIFIED VISITOR FROM JERSEY CITY, NEW JERSEY, SAYING: "This has touched our hearts very deeply, because I believe that the United States is a great country and unfortunately things like this happen. But it brings us together." The influx of visitors means brisk business for Newtown's Blue Colony diner. For those coming home -- the holidays take on new meaning. (SOUNDBITE) (English) PENNY FAHLMAN, VISITOR FROM PITTSBURGH, PENNSYLVANIA, SAYING: "The contrast between coming to visit our family and the sadness that we feel for all these families is so enormous. This tragedy is so profound and we are feeling so sad for everyone." It's now a Christmas marked by tragedy -- where people go through the motions of the holiday season.

Mourners converge on Newtown in sign of support

Monday, 24 Dec, 2012 - 01:29

Editors' Picks »

The Exchange »

The Exchange: Hot commodity The Exchange: Hot commodity

Wed, 16 Jul, 2014 - (9:25)

The Exchange: Constitutional crusade The Exchange: Constitutional crusade

Wed, 25 Jun, 2014 - (11:35)

The Exchange: The value of money The Exchange: The value of money

Mon, 02 Jun, 2014 - (9:53)

The Exchange: China’s Second Continent The Exchange: China’s Second Continent

Tue, 27 May, 2014 - (9:35)

The Exchange: A master of business arts The Exchange: A master of business arts

Thu, 08 May, 2014 - (8:24)

The Exchange: America's bankrupt cities The Exchange: America's bankrupt cities

Mon, 05 May, 2014 - (8:52)

The Exchange: Let the rocking commence The Exchange: Let the rocking commence

Tue, 08 Apr, 2014 - (8:13)

The Exchange: The Moneyball fallacies The Exchange: The Moneyball fallacies

Mon, 24 Mar, 2014 - (9:54)

Is doing good a good business? Is doing good a good business?

Mon, 17 Mar, 2014 - (7:38)

Oddly Enough »

Masked hero sweeps clean Masked hero sweeps clean

Tue, 26 Aug, 2014 - (1:10)

Right muddy mess at World Bog Snorkeling Championships Right muddy mess at World Bog Snorkeling...

Tue, 26 Aug, 2014 - (1:11)

Hello Kitty conquers space Hello Kitty conquers space

Mon, 25 Aug, 2014 - (1:11)

Japanese zoo welcomes red panda cub Japanese zoo welcomes red panda cub

Mon, 25 Aug, 2014 - (0:42)

Is it a plane? No, it's a hoverbike Is it a plane? No, it's a hoverbike

Fri, 22 Aug, 2014 - (2:40)

Fox kicks off "Simpsons" mega marathon Fox kicks off "Simpsons" mega marathon

Thu, 21 Aug, 2014 - (0:56)

Six-story tall duck floats into L.A. port Six-story tall duck floats into L.A. port

Thu, 21 Aug, 2014 - (1:02)

Young artist paints surreal illusions on bodies Young artist paints surreal illusions on...

Thu, 21 Aug, 2014 - (1:30)

Snow leopard cubs make Bronx Zoo debut Snow leopard cubs make Bronx Zoo debut

Wed, 20 Aug, 2014 - (0:41)

Eco-friendly bench keeps your tech fully charged Eco-friendly bench keeps your tech fully...

Tue, 19 Aug, 2014 - (1:55)

A cheetah cub and a puppy make friends A cheetah cub and a puppy make friends

Tue, 19 Aug, 2014 - (0:48)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, 19 Feb, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, 10 Jan, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, 05 Aug, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, 17 Dec, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sun, 09 Dec, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Mon, 10 Dec, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, 22 Aug, 2014 - (3:12)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, 11 Aug, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, 08 Aug, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Fri, 01 Aug, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, 11 Jul, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Thu, 03 Jul, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, 20 Jun, 2014 - (3:04)

World Cup: Around the globe in 50 goals World Cup: Around the globe in 50 goals

Fri, 06 Jun, 2014 - (1:08)

VIVID – Sydney’s spectacle of light VIVID – Sydney’s spectacle of light

Fri, 30 May, 2014 - (1:37)