Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

World News

One way to tackle a shark

Monday, 21 Jan, 2013 - 00:52

Jan. 21 - A man drags a shark back into the sea after it was found swimming in shallow waters near beach-goers in Australia. Sarah Sheffer reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

When this shark was spotted swimming close to shore in Australia -- one brave beachgoer took direct action and moved it back into deeper waters. The two-metre Dusky Whaler shark was spotted on Friday at a local beach on Queensland's Sunshine coast, causing some panic. (SOUNDBITE) (English) TOURIST TASH KIMLIN SAYING: "It was pretty scary, yeah I was just calling out to them and they couldn't really understand what I was saying." (SOUNDBITE) (English) TOURIST TASH KIMLIN SAYING: "Do you think you want to get back in the water again?" (SOUNDBITE) (English) UNNAMED YOUNG GIRL SAYING: "No!" But another tourist said he didn't think twice about getting back into the water. (SOUNDBITE) (English) TOURIST LIAM MURIE SAYING: "At first, sort of, but now no. It's too good not to miss." After being moved back into the sea, the shark stayed in the area for a while, before swimming further out. Local media reported that the shark was likely sick, and that's what made it swim so close to shore.

One way to tackle a shark

Monday, 21 Jan, 2013 - 00:52

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, 19 Feb, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, 10 Jan, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, 05 Aug, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, 17 Dec, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sun, 09 Dec, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Mon, 10 Dec, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, 05 Sep, 2014 - (2:05)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, 29 Aug, 2014 - (1:00)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, 01 Sep, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, 22 Aug, 2014 - (3:12)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, 11 Aug, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, 08 Aug, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Fri, 01 Aug, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, 11 Jul, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Thu, 03 Jul, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, 20 Jun, 2014 - (3:04)