Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Video

Netanyahu tops exit polls

Wednesday, 23 Jan, 2013 - 01:14

Jan. 22 - Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu won Israel's election according to exit polls. Deborah Gembara reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

Exit polls show Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu as the winner of Israel's election. Celebration at his party's headquarters. Seen here earlier in the day, Netanyahu's Likud party along with the ultra-nationalist Yiserael Beitenu still have the most seats in the 120-member assembly --- reportedly 31 seats ---down from the 42 they held in the previous parliament. The centrist Yesh Atid party led by a former television talk show host came in second with 18 or 19 seats, a stunning result for a political newcomer. The once dominant Labour party was projected to take third place with 17 seats. Lawmaker Isaac Herzog says he thinks the left could form an alliance against Netanyahu's leadership. SOUNDBITE: ISAAC HERZOG, ISRAELI LAWMAKER FROM LABOUR PARTY, SAYING: I believe that right now we can be the center of a coalition with Yair Lapid, for a new government for Israel." During his campaign, 63-year-old Netanyahu promised to focus on tackling Iran's nuclear ambitions, if he won.

Netanyahu tops exit polls

Wednesday, 23 Jan, 2013 - 01:14

Top News »

Editors' Picks »

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, 19 Feb, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, 10 Jan, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, 05 Aug, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, 17 Dec, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sun, 09 Dec, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Mon, 10 Dec, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, 05 Sep, 2014 - (2:05)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, 29 Aug, 2014 - (1:00)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, 01 Sep, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, 22 Aug, 2014 - (3:12)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, 11 Aug, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, 08 Aug, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Fri, 01 Aug, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, 11 Jul, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Thu, 03 Jul, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, 20 Jun, 2014 - (3:04)