Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Top News

Russian ally says Assad's days numbered

Monday, January 28, 2013 - 01:19

Jan. 28 - Russian Prime Minister Dmitry Medvedev said Syrian President Bashar al-Assad's chances of retaining power are getting ''smaller and smaller'' every day. Julie Noce reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

EDIT CONTAINS 4:3 MATERIAL Tough words from Syria's most important ally. Russia Prime Minister Dmitry Medvedev. (SOUNDBITE) (Russian with English translation) RUSSIAN PRIME MINISTER DMITRY MEDVEDEV SAYING : "I think that with every day, with every week, with every month, the chances of him surviving are becoming less and less. But once again, it should be decided by the Syrian people - not Russia, not the U.S., not any other country. The most important thing right now is to support the process of national reconciliation." The words are the most vocal statement to date from Russia, which has blocked three U.N Security Council resolutions aimed at ending Bashar al-Assad's rule. On the ground in Syria, the fighting continues. (nats people screaming) In amateur video, not independently verified by Reuters, people run for cover as bombs fly over head. One witness said more than 20 people were killed in the city of Homs-- the heart of the 22 month uprising. Syrian authorities haven't commented on the latest fighting. The United Nations reports at least 60,000 people have been killed in Syria's civil war so far. ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++ 7122-SWITZERLAND-MEDVEDEV SYRIA 7093-SYRIA AIRSTRIKE/SHELLING

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

Russian ally says Assad's days numbered

Monday, January 28, 2013 - 01:19

Top News »

Editors' Picks »

Oddly Enough »

In the ink at the London Tattoo Convention In the ink at the London Tattoo Convention

Mon, 29 Sep, 2014 - (1:01)

Gromit to go in Hong Kong Gromit to go in Hong Kong

Mon, 29 Sep, 2014 - (1:15)

Rare white waterbuck calf at San Diego Zoo Rare white waterbuck calf at San Diego Zoo

Mon, 29 Sep, 2014 - (0:38)

Weekly animal round up Weekly animal round up

Sun, 28 Sep, 2014 - (1:07)

Japanese company unveils robot cheerleaders Japanese company unveils robot cheerleaders

Thu, 25 Sep, 2014 - (1:09)

Polo players ride yaks in popular event Polo players ride yaks in popular event

Tue, 23 Sep, 2014 - (1:27)

Cheers! It's time for Oktoberfest Cheers! It's time for Oktoberfest

Mon, 22 Sep, 2014 - (1:15)

Tiger-mania roars across Russia Tiger-mania roars across Russia

Mon, 22 Sep, 2014 - (1:05)

Moving Pictures »

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, 05 Sep, 2014 - (2:05)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, 29 Aug, 2014 - (1:00)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, 01 Sep, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, 22 Aug, 2014 - (3:12)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, 11 Aug, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, 08 Aug, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Fri, 01 Aug, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, 11 Jul, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Thu, 03 Jul, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, 20 Jun, 2014 - (3:04)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, 19 Feb, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, 10 Jan, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, 05 Aug, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, 17 Dec, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sun, 09 Dec, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Mon, 10 Dec, 2012 - (10:39)