Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Top News

Russian ally says Assad's days numbered

Monday, January 28, 2013 - 01:19

Jan. 28 - Russian Prime Minister Dmitry Medvedev said Syrian President Bashar al-Assad's chances of retaining power are getting ''smaller and smaller'' every day. Julie Noce reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

EDIT CONTAINS 4:3 MATERIAL Tough words from Syria's most important ally. Russia Prime Minister Dmitry Medvedev. (SOUNDBITE) (Russian with English translation) RUSSIAN PRIME MINISTER DMITRY MEDVEDEV SAYING : "I think that with every day, with every week, with every month, the chances of him surviving are becoming less and less. But once again, it should be decided by the Syrian people - not Russia, not the U.S., not any other country. The most important thing right now is to support the process of national reconciliation." The words are the most vocal statement to date from Russia, which has blocked three U.N Security Council resolutions aimed at ending Bashar al-Assad's rule. On the ground in Syria, the fighting continues. (nats people screaming) In amateur video, not independently verified by Reuters, people run for cover as bombs fly over head. One witness said more than 20 people were killed in the city of Homs-- the heart of the 22 month uprising. Syrian authorities haven't commented on the latest fighting. The United Nations reports at least 60,000 people have been killed in Syria's civil war so far. ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++ 7122-SWITZERLAND-MEDVEDEV SYRIA 7093-SYRIA AIRSTRIKE/SHELLING

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

Russian ally says Assad's days numbered

Monday, January 28, 2013 - 01:19

Editors' Picks »

Business »

Moving Pictures »

Images of October Images of October

Mon, 03 Nov, 2014 - (0:57)

The world in a city The world in a city

Fri, 31 Oct, 2014 - (1:30)

Real-life superheroes Real-life superheroes

Tue, 28 Oct, 2014 - (1:44)

Dance of the northern lights Dance of the northern lights

Mon, 20 Oct, 2014 - (1:08)

Images of September Images of September

Thu, 02 Oct, 2014 - (1:00)

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, 05 Sep, 2014 - (2:05)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, 01 Sep, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, 22 Aug, 2014 - (3:12)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, 29 Aug, 2014 - (1:00)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, 11 Aug, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, 08 Aug, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Fri, 01 Aug, 2014 - (1:20)

Oddly Enough »

Calling all men: here's your chance to experience labor pains Calling all men: here's your chance to...

Thu, 20 Nov, 2014 - (1:43)

Block-long billboard lights up Times Square Block-long billboard lights up Times Square

Wed, 19 Nov, 2014 - (1:19)

Japan’s military gets sexy Japan’s military gets sexy

Tue, 18 Nov, 2014 - (1:30)

Paris turns on holiday spirit Paris turns on holiday spirit

Mon, 17 Nov, 2014 - (0:57)

Belgian artists sculpt Disney on ice Belgian artists sculpt Disney on ice

Mon, 17 Nov, 2014 - (1:32)

A whale of a tale A whale of a tale

Fri, 14 Nov, 2014 - (0:32)

Sandcastle hits new heights Sandcastle hits new heights

Wed, 12 Nov, 2014 - (0:59)

Rothko and Jasper Johns are top lots at Sotheby's Rothko and Jasper Johns are top lots at...

Wed, 12 Nov, 2014 - (1:52)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, 19 Feb, 2014 - (8:24)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, 05 Aug, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, 17 Dec, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sun, 09 Dec, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Mon, 10 Dec, 2012 - (10:39)

Lessons of the Jihad Jane case - Reuters Investigates Lessons of the Jihad Jane case - Reuters...

Mon, 10 Dec, 2012 - (3:43)