Reuters - Video

Edition: U.S. | U.K. | IN | CN

Top News

Treating the wounded in Syria

Tuesday, January 29, 2013 - 01:05

Jan. 29 - A new field hospital in Syria secured by rebels near the Turkish border opens to treat those wounded by war. Deborah Lutterbeck reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

A new field hospital --secured by Syrian rebels -- opens near the Turkish border. The wounded -- desperate for help -- arrive any way they can The hope is to create a safe place in a war zone. (SOUNDBITE) (Arabic) HEAD OF THE HOSPITAL DR. JUMAA SARMADI, SAYING: "The main reason for opening this hospital near the border, was to lessen the suffering of the injured Syrians, especially those found near the crossing points into Turkey. Otherwise the injured would have to wait many hours to be able to enter a hospital in Turkey." The hospital has 50 beds. It has the supplies needed to treated the wounded. Those with critical injuries are sent to Turkey. The war in Syria has cost the lives of more than 60,000 people. Many more have been wounded. Western nations are reluctant to get involved in the conflict. On Monday, the UN said it could offer little help without more money as it appealed for donations.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

Treating the wounded in Syria

Tuesday, January 29, 2013 - 01:05

Editors' Picks »

Business »

Moving Pictures »

Images of December Images of December

Tue, 23 Dec, 2014 - (0:30)

Tsunami - unclaimed possessions Tsunami - unclaimed possessions

Tue, 23 Dec, 2014 - (2:23)

Images of November Images of November

Tue, 02 Dec, 2014 - (0:30)

Images of October Images of October

Mon, 03 Nov, 2014 - (0:57)

The world in a city The world in a city

Fri, 31 Oct, 2014 - (1:30)

Real-life superheroes Real-life superheroes

Tue, 28 Oct, 2014 - (1:44)

Dance of the northern lights Dance of the northern lights

Mon, 20 Oct, 2014 - (1:08)

Images of September Images of September

Thu, 02 Oct, 2014 - (1:00)

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, 05 Sep, 2014 - (2:05)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, 01 Sep, 2014 - (2:23)

Sports And Leisure »

Mourinho's "Let's go to Wembley" Mourinho's "Let's go to Wembley"

Wed, 28 Jan, 2015 - (1:16)

Diver Daley trains in Rio Diver Daley trains in Rio

Tue, 27 Jan, 2015 - (0:55)

Drogba on his Chelsea hopes Drogba on his Chelsea hopes

Mon, 26 Jan, 2015 - (0:52)

NBA legend shoots from the hip NBA legend shoots from the hip

Wed, 14 Jan, 2015 - (1:13)

Tennis ace Murray proposes to girlfriend Tennis ace Murray proposes to girlfriend

Thu, 27 Nov, 2014 - (0:41)

Sports Spread: Tinkering Liverpool target Chelsea Sports Spread: Tinkering Liverpool target...

Thu, 06 Nov, 2014 - (11:18)

Flying car prototype takes to the skies Flying car prototype takes to the skies

Wed, 29 Oct, 2014 - (2:18)

Dateline Asia »

Samsung sees profits slide Samsung sees profits slide

Thu, 29 Jan, 2015 - (0:57)

Chinese firms on overseas shopping sprees Chinese firms on overseas shopping sprees

Thu, 29 Jan, 2015 - (2:28)

iPhone grabs top spot in China iPhone grabs top spot in China

Wed, 28 Jan, 2015 - (1:40)

Robot replacements for Foxconn's workers Robot replacements for Foxconn's workers

Wed, 28 Jan, 2015 - (1:12)

Alibaba could set sights on Yahoo Alibaba could set sights on Yahoo

Tue, 27 Jan, 2015 - (1:24)

Fashion designers finding haste makes waste Fashion designers finding haste makes waste

Tue, 27 Jan, 2015 - (2:07)

Be afraid, the Chinese are spending less Be afraid, the Chinese are spending less

Mon, 26 Jan, 2015 - (1:33)

Asia markets shrug at Greek elections Asia markets shrug at Greek elections

Mon, 26 Jan, 2015 - (1:36)

Asia markets toast ECB stimulus Asia markets toast ECB stimulus

Fri, 23 Jan, 2015 - (1:42)

Asia Week Ahead: Markets await Greece vote Asia Week Ahead: Markets await Greece vote

Fri, 23 Jan, 2015 - (1:18)

Reuters Investigates »

Where the sea is closing in Where the sea is closing in

Thu, 20 Nov, 2014 - (3:41)

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, 19 Feb, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, 10 Jan, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, 29 Aug, 2013 - (13:22)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, 05 Aug, 2013 - (1:36)